

November 6, 2017

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Democratic Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan and Leader Pelosi:

On behalf of the National Restaurant Association, we strongly support H.R. 3441, the "Save Local Business Act." We urge swift passage of this important bipartisan legislation that would protect small businesses and their employees by restoring the clear, traditional joint employer standard. Until Congress passes this legislation, businesses of all sizes will suffer the consequences of unlimited and unpredictable joint employment liability.

The National Restaurant Association is the leading business association for the restaurant and food service industry. The industry, predominated by small businesses, is comprised of more than one million restaurant and foodservice outlets employing 14.7 million employees and 10 percent of the U.S. workforce.

The National Labor Relations Board's (NLRB) decision in *Browning-Ferris Industries (BFI)* overturned more than thirty years of joint employment legal precedent and replaced it with a vague standard that has created uncertainty for employers and employees alike across the nation. Businesses are now exposed to unlimited joint employer liability for both workplaces they do not control and workers they do not employ. To mitigate the liability, restaurants and businesses in other industries that rely on contractors and subcontractors for specialized support are either consolidating or canceling these service contracts. Some businesses are even holding back plans for expansion and further investment, effectively creating a negative impact on job growth and business confidence.

Thank you for your leadership on this important issue. We urge you to support H.R. 3441 and ensure swift passage when this critical legislation comes to the House floor.

Sincerely,

Cicely Supon
Cicely Simpson

Executive Vice President, Public Affairs

cc: Members of the U.S. House of Representatives